image description

Nominations for the 2020 NCWSBA Wool Broker Award

There is no translation available.

The National Council of Wool Selling Brokers of Australia (NCWSBA) is calling for nominations for the 2020 NCWSBA Wool Broker Award. The Award is in its ninth successful year and recognises excellence in service to woolgrowers, auctioneering and/or innovation by an outstanding wool broker employee who is working for a NCWSBA member and has been in the wool broking industry for 10 years or less.


John Colley, President of NCWSBA, said “The objective of the Award is to encourage newer members of the Australian wool broking industry and promote excellence in all aspects of wool broking.”

“NCWSBA, through the Award, has been promoting both wool broking and the Australian wool industry as an interesting prospective career for young people, including graduates, since 2012. We also seek to raise the profile of and increase the understanding of the important role of wool brokers.”

The prize in 2020 is a fully paid trip to attend the 2021 congress of the International Wool Textile Organisation to be held in Kyoto, Japan in May 2021. Arrangements will also be made for the 2020 Award winner to visit the wool textile industry and retailers in Japan. The Award has been made possible by the generous support of the Award Sponsors – AWTA Ltd and Sheep Central.

“Past winners of the Award have attended IWTO Congresses in China, Hong Kong, the United Kingdom, Italy and South Africa. The award winners have also visited wool textile mills and wool growing properties in these countries, expanding their experience and understanding of the global wool industry.”, Mr Colley continued

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 IWTO Congress due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it is now planned that the 2019 Wool Broker Award winner, Samantha Wan, will go to the Nanjing Wool Market Conference in Haining, China in September. She will also visit wool textile mills in Zhejiang and Jiangsu provinces.

NCWSBA is now calling for applications for the 2020 Award from eligible wool broker staff. To be eligible, applicants must have been working in the wool broking industry for 10 years or less and be employed by an NCWSBA member company. Full details and application forms are available from the NCWSBA Office. Call 0419 344 259 or email [email protected]

Applications close on 26th June 2020. An independent Selection Panel will review all applications and short listed Finalists will be notified by 24th July. The Finalists will attend the NCWSBA’s Annual General Meeting to give a short presentation in support of their nomination at the RACV Club, Melbourne on 27th August. The winner will be announced at the Wool Week dinner, which will be held on Thursday, 27th August at the RACV Club Dining room, Melbourne.

Chris Wilcox,
Executive Director

Go to top